(no subject)

By: ryanmercer

Mar 10 2008

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Well dad… tomorrow it will have been 10 years. I miss you.
Lets see… what has happened this past year… 356 days ago I said “Joe isn’t doing all that great, I imagine he’ll be joining you sometime this year.” turns out I was right Joe died, I”m sure he’s up there with you. I did some more York Rite work, have been inactive in Blue Lodge and the other bodies… maybe I’ll get involved this year, I don’t know though… You know me, I’m fairly solitary.. The new dog is still weird, she’s quite a character, it’s best just to imagine a wild breed of dog, as despite being one fo the oldest domesticated breeds… Basenji’s are still very much like wild dogs, and it can even be argued if they were ever even domesticated. I don’t really talk to Aaron anymore… we haven’t really seen each other much in several years. I’ve probably seen him a dozen times in 3 or 4 years. We just went different ways.I’m working for FedEx… I was last year at this time… I’ve had some offers for other jobs, and as much better as they would have been… for some reason i’ve stayed where I am just becuase my co-workers are fun, although they are quitting at a fairly steady pace.
Not a whole lot really went on this past year. Joe died, I found out two months and two days after it happened. He was there at your funeral, but I didn’t get to be at his becuase I just didn’t know. Damnit I feel like I failed him… I hadn’t heard from him in a few months (you see we electronically mialed each other every few weeks) and one night I was in bed and just had a weird feeling… I got up, emailed him instantly… and it returned undeliverable, but before it could I had already found his obituary and was crying pretty bad. Tell him I’m sorry that I never made it up to Fort Wayne, I promised him all the time after you died that I’d come up and we’d have lunch… I never made it up, and I missed his funeral. It was private anyway. Tell him I’ll make it up to him many many years from now when I join you two rascals up there. Here is what is left of him amonst the living “JOSEPH B. PRONESTI, 78, of Fort Wayne, died Friday, June 22, 2007, atHospice Home. He was born on July 23, 1928, in Fort Wayne. He served inthe U.S. Navy, and was Deputy Sheriff for the Allen County SheriffDepartment for 22 years, retiring in 1992. Surviving are his sons,Joseph M. (Karen) Pronesti, Bruce Pronesti and Doug Pronesti; familymember, Lisa Miller; and grandchildren, Nicholas Pronesti and TaylorPronesti. He was preceded in death by his wife, Ruth (Cronkite); andhis parents, Vincenzina (Morille) and Pasquale Pronesti. Privateservice. Burial in Catholic Cemetery. Memorials to Visiting Nurse andHospice Home.

Well, here it is past my bedtime and I’m crying. It’s been another long and hard year without you dad. I miss you and while I hope I have many many long years alive, I can’t wait to see you again.
Your son,
-Ryan Carl Mercer.

Leave a Reply

